The Grief Continues

After a long hiatus, I find myself pulled to this website again. There are a couple of reasons:

  • I want to “clean up” the website as I want it to be a testimony of Barry’s existence.
  • Because of the first point, I really want to document Barry’s life. I can’t do it in words, as I’m not emotionally strong enough, so I will probably do it in photos instead.
  • It’s important for me to show that there are more good days than bad and the difference of my grieving now that a little over three years has passed. Having said that, I also need to show that the grief is still strong, at times still moving me to tears and depression.

To begin with, you will hardly know I’m here, but I will be visiting frequently to do some house cleaning. I’ve already started by adopting a new theme and uploading new images of the banner…and of Barry, in the sidebar. I have also written a couple of posts, but there will be more of them in the future.

Lastly, please let me reiterate that I am not in a position to counsel people. Not only am I not qualified, I am not able to deal with the pressure (this is a continuing side affect of grief that I must deal with on a daily basis). I truly feel for everyone who is suffering a loss or from depression and I wish I could help you, but I can’t. I can only advise you to call Lifeline.

2 thoughts on “The Grief Continues

  1. Hi Karen,

    A little over two years has passed since we lost Owen. We don’t know the cause – murder? suicide? a slip and fall? We know this, the grief does not stop, it changes. I’ve come to your site on occasion, as a way of educating myself for the future of losing a child. It’s different for each of us, to be sure. And, no amount of education, or reading other people’s experiences can fully prepare us, nor take away the pain. But, your writing has been instrumental in my journey, and I thank you.

    I smile when I see Barry’s face. That is a gift from him to the world. His smile. Thank you for sharing.

    Linda

  2. Karen,
    It is good to have your recent comments. I often wonder how you are coping, & am glad you have many good days. Three years down this path is relatively early, I think. I am 9 years, and still feel the pain of my son’s suicide. Iris Bolton wrote “My son, my son..” 11 years after his death. Her emotions were keenly described,even then.

    Your writings offer solace because we can identify with you and your journey, “one step forward, two steps back” often how it is! We don’t expect you to offer a quick fix…there is none. Thank you for sharing your experiences. Take care

    Maree.

Leave a Reply

