The Passing of My Uncle

Today I found out that my uncle passed away from cancer on Sunday 2 December. It was a shock, even though the time frame given when diagnosed was unbelievably short. I think he was only diagnosed four or five months ago. I didn’t know him well, as they live 3,000 kilometres away from us, on the other side of the country. I did, however, have a high opinion of him and was saddened and quite upset to hear of his passing.

Once, before losing Barry, I would have said something stupid like “at least the pain is over”, but now I know these words do nothing to comfort those left behind. Why does anyone have to suffer? It really isn’t fair. Personally, I think life is cruel.

We all grieve in our own way, so I have no idea what my aunt is feeling right now. I can only imagine she is in shock and might be feeling numb. I know family are trying to help her and I pray that she gets through the coming weeks and is able to find peaceful moments in the turmoil. My heart goes out to her. I don’t know what else to say except this is a sad time.

Below is a photo taken in October 2002 – left to right: Graeme (my uncle), David (my brother), Karen (me) and Margaret (my aunt).

family

7 thoughts on “The Passing of My Uncle

  1. I’m terribly sorry for your loss. You’re right. Grief is grief, and a person whom we expect to die is still missed when they do finally succumb. I share your wish for your Aunt to find some peace, and add that wish for you as well.

  2. We had my husband’s brother’s funeral during the week and so I am feeling somewhat lost. David , my brother in law lived with us for five years until april this year so i grew attached to him during this period. The pain is not as severe as it has been with losing my son but it certainly makes you realise how precious life is and how much we should appreciate good health, our family and friends. Julie

  3. Karen, I’m just catching up here and I’m so sorry to hear of your uncle’s death. Anytime of year is hard to lose a family member but December is especially difficult for the family.
    {hugs}
    Sherry

  4. It is, Sherry, as you well know. On this occasion I’m the person who must be aware of someone else’s feelings in grief and it’s difficult to know what’s acceptable…and what’s not. I’m going with instinct and choosing my words carefully as I want my Aunt to know I’m thinking of her this Christmas, but I imagine it’s going to be a very difficult time for her.

Leave a Reply

