Is it just a dream?

We all dream, right? It’s usually nothing more than a mixture of our daily emotions and the things we’ve seen and done during the day. It’s all thrown together and the result is a dream that seems quite crazy and means nothing. When we open our eyes in the morning, the images are already fading. By the time we sit down to our first cup of coffee/tea, we’ve forgotten the dream entirely. This is called dreaming.

Now see yourself sitting in front of the TV. You are engrossed in the movie you’re watching. In fact, you are almost (but not quite) part of the cast. Then, a family member walks into the room and demands your attention. You immediately turn to look at the family member, the movie fading in the background and continuing on without you. The family member tells you something and then leaves, and you turn back to the movie and try to figure out what you’ve missed. Has this happened to you? It’s happened to me dozens of times.

What I haven’t experienced before is when this happens in a dream.

Last night, I dreamt one of those crazy, mixed up dreams. I couldn’t begin to tell you what it was about. But somewhere in the middle Barry stepped into view and drew me away from the silliness. Now I think it’s strange that I can’t remember the dream, but I can clearly remember the encounter with Barry.

“Mum, he needs to be told to wait,” said Barry.

I was confused. “Who?”

A word flashed in my mind. I knew it was meant to be a person’s name, but the spelling was weird. Barry was dyslexic, so this might explain why the word looks strange.

“Kieragan,” he said. “He’s getting ready to leave.”

I still felt confused. It was almost as if I’d missed part of the conversation. What was he talking about? Who is Kieragan? I have no idea why I asked this next question, but I did. “What day is it?”

“It’s the 8th of August,” replied Barry.

I shook my head. “No, that’s not right.”

Barry nodded. “Tell him to wait until the end of September and things will change.”

I stood dumbfounded and Barry left. The stupid dream returned and I was lost in the crazyiness again. When I woke up this morning, the word “Kieragan” flashed again and again until I wrote it down.

Did Barry have a friend named Kieragan? I don’t know. He had so many friends, I only knew a small number of them. I don’t know who Kieragan is. How can I tell him to wait until the end of September.

I wasn’t going to write a post about this, but something keeps nagging at me to do so. Maybe this message is meant for someone Barry knew personally, or maybe it’s meant for someone who has or will visit this website. Maybe it was just a dream and means nothing. I honestly don’t know. But in case it was more than just a dream, I’m sharing it in the hope that Kieragan gets Barry’s message.

Leave a Reply

