When Tears Fall

Gary placed the following graphic and letter in a private area of his flickr account. I have his permission to also place them here:

In Memory...

Dear Barry

I want to tell you mate the last 12 months has been really tough going. At one stage we thought about moving out but we couldn’t bare the thought of leaving this house that holds so many memories of you. Your room is still untouched. All your posters are still on the wall. Your old wardrobe covered in tags and graffiti is still full of your clothes. As yet we just can’t let anything you owned go. Even your old smelly shoes are neatly laid out on the floor at the foot of your bed.

Every day your Mum, Daniel and I miss you so much. I remember a verse in the bible Barry that goes something like this: “Even if the mother that gave you birth could forget you, I will never forget you.” That was God talking and now we know exactly how He felt and what He meant.

Barry we love you and will always love you. We treasure your memory. We will always speak your name with honour. We will always remember your smile and laughter and the joy you gave to our lives.

May our love and the love of your friends comfort you. May God heal your wounds and fill you with His peace. May His love be as pure water that you drink daily till we see you again, our son, our brother, our friend.

Mum, Gary and Daniel

(written by Gary)

In response to the letter, one of Gary’s contacts left a beautiful poem for us, which I would also like to share:

If tomorrow starts without me,
And I’m not there to see,
If the sun should rise and find your eyes
All filled with tears for me;
I wish so much you wouldn’t cry
the way you did today,
While thinking of the many things,
We didn’t get to say.
I know how much you love me,
As much as I love you,
And each time that you think of me,
I know you’ll miss me too;
But when tomorrow starts without me,
Please try to understand,
that an angel came and called my name,
And took me by the hand,
And said my place was ready,
In heaven far above,
And that I’d have to leave behind
all those I dearly love.
But as I turned to walk away,
A tear fell from my eye,
For all my life, I’d always thought!
I didn’t want to die.
I had so much to live for,
So much left yet to do,
it seemed almost impossible,
that I was leaving you.
I thought of all the yesterdays,
The good ones and the bad,
I thought of all that we shared,
And all the fun we had.
If I could relive yesterday,
Just even for a while,
I’d say good-bye and kiss you
and maybe see you smile.
But then I fully realized,
That this could never be,
For emptiness and memories,
would take the place of me.
And when I thought of worldly things,
I might miss some tomorrow,
I thought of you, and when I did,
My heart was filled with sorrow.
But when I walked through heaven’s gates,
I felt so much at home.
When God looked down and smiled at me,
From His great golden throne,
He said, “This is eternity,
And all I’ve promised you.”
Today your life on earth is past,
but here life starts anew.
I promise no tomorrow,
But today will always last,
and since each day is the same way,
There’s no longing for the past.
So when tomorrow starts without me,
don’t think we’re far apart,
For every time you think of me,
I’m right here, in your heart”

Leave a Reply

