The Long Journey

A Gift...I’m a writer, but I do not usually write poetry. This poem shows the world how I feel inside. I place it here now, at 11.30pm on 18 May 2007, which is the exact time Daniel phoned me one year ago to tell me that my youngest son had taken his own life.

The Long Journey

A tear drops on my pillow,
in this darkness called my life,
come sit beside me, please,
guide me through this night.

A tear drops on my pillow,
softly, I whisper your name,
I wait to feel you near me, son,
yet I know it can’t be the same.

In this darkness called my life,
never ending, I search for the light,
yet my heart aches for you, son,
and your smile, oh so bright.

Come sit beside me, please,
there are things I need to know,
Are you safe, protected and watching me, son,
without knowing, I can’t let you go.

Guide me through this night,
it’s been a year since you went away,
I send these words to heaven, Barry,
“I love and miss you everyday.”

~ by Karen Henderson to her son, Barry ~

Note: The flowers in the photo were given to me today as a gift from a dear friend, Sasha, with the following message: The next best thing to giving you a hug! Thank you, Sasha, for caring. They (the words and the flowers) are absolutely beautiful.

2 thoughts on “The Long Journey

  1. I don’t know what to say… You may hate me for saing this, but I feel your pain, because I can imagine how hard it is to lose a loved one to suicide. I’ve been through depression and a good friend of mine has attempted suicide before, so even though I’ve never actually lost someone, the subject of suicide is ever-present in my life. Have you read Darkness Visible by William Styron? I think it may help you.

  2. You have said nothing in your post that would make me hate you or that would make me feel offended. Suicide is more predominant in our lives than most people realise. I hope the depression does not grip hold of you again, and I hope the affects of suicide never find you. I did borrow Darkness Visible from the library once, and flipped through the pages, but I haven’t read the entire book. Maybe one day I will. Thank you for mentioning it.

Leave a Reply

