He Only Took My Hand

The following poem was sent to me by a friend:

Last night while I was trying to sleep,
My son’s voice I did hear,
I opened my eyes and looked around,
But he did not appear.

He said, “Mom, you’ve got to listen,
You’ve got to understand,
God didn’t take me from you, mom,
He only took my hand.

When I called out in pain that day,
The moment that I died,
He reached down and took my hand,
And pulled me to His side.

He pulled me up and saved me
From the misery and pain.
My body was hurt so badly,
I could never be the same.

My search is really over now,
I’ve found happiness within,
All the answers to my empty dreams,
And all that might have been.

I love you all and miss you so,
And I’ll always be nearby.
My body’s gone forever,
But my spirit will never die.

And so, you must all go on now,
And live, and understand…….
God did not take me from you,
He only took my hand.”

~ Author Unknown ~

7 thoughts on “He Only Took My Hand

  1. I have been looking for words to comfort my friend. She found her 23yr old son hanging in the garden when returning from shopping with her daughter only yesterday. I feel so helpless and dont know what to say. I feel these words He only took my hand will be of some comfort in the weeks, months and years ahead. Thankyou

  2. Jackie, your friend will want to hear you acknowledge her loss and then all you need to do is listen to her. She might need to talk about it constantly to begin with. Let her. I found, when people let me do this, it helped me the most.

    The other thing that really comforted me was when I received little cards with verses, such as the one in the post, inside. A friend often bought a blank card and stuck a photocopy of a poem inside. This always made me sob, and that was because the words touched me as did the thought. My friend was thinking of me, and that’s important at such a sad time. It doesn’t matter that it made me cry…crying is a way of healing too, because it allows the emotions out.

    My deepest condolences go to your friend. She truly needs a friend right now to help her through this. My best wishes to you both.

  3. My heart goes out to u. My son was murdered in 1999 and this Poems is what i felt helped me ,and i no in my heart god was trying to confort me and I will charish this poem for ever,

  4. I read this poem at my nephew’s funeral over ten years ago. He was only 29 and died a senseless death because of two kids high on crack. The poem brought so much comfort to me.

    • I’m sorry to hear about your nephew. Ten years is a long time for some, but nothing when you’ve lost someone dear to you. For me, it’s been six and a half years. I still cry when I hear certain songs. I still have the occasional nightmare. Christmas is the worst time of year, for me, and I suspect for many others. Take care.

  5. I read this poem at my cousins funeral in 2008, some how the words were perfect for that day. As i type this message, tears are flowing down my cheeks. I miss her so…….

Leave a Reply

