Introduction

This weekend I wrote the introduction to my non-fiction project – Suicide: A Mother’s Story. I decided to change the name of the book, after doing a lot of research, to a title which will leave the reader in no doubt what the book is about.

I want the first paragraph to be quite powerful. It has to grab the reader and pull them right in (this is essential for any reader, but especially so if the reader is an editor of a publishing company). I feel I achieved that goal. The words that follow come from the heart. It’s important to get the reasons for the book firmly established at this point. Then…I have a one sentence last paragraph that should leave the reader in a state of “reality” shock.

The introduction is only four (double spaced) pages. This isn’t long, but I believe everything that needs to be said, has been covered. It took me a long time to write. I kept changing my mind and then rearranging the paragraphs, adding this and deleting that, but eventually I was happy.

I’ve made a start. I’m not sure where to go from here. I think I’ll write our story first. The posts from Crumbling Walls have been copied into a word document. This will be my starting point. The posts were written at the time everything was happening and are the most accurate account of what happened. Naturally, I plan on expanding on the posts. I also want to write about Barry’s life before I go any further. However, I’m finding this extremely difficult to do. My mind isn’t allowing the memories to come through in chronological order, but I’ll find a way around that.

I have created a new category in the sidebar called The Book. Click on this link to follow the progress of the manuscript.

2 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. I hope you keep writing the blog as well, Karen. I know you must feel like there may come a time when moving forward is the thing you must do. Yet, selfishly, I want to keep reading your posts. I want to know how other people go through losing their child. It happens differently for all of us, but there is some comfort in finding we’re not alone in this particular grief.

    We don’t know how my son died, whether murder, accident, or suicide (we know it wasn’t illness, as we have the autopsy report), so we grieve not just in losing him, but in the loss that goes along with not knowing what happened. People often ask me if it would be easier if we knew. How can I know? A part of me feels like I could stop the hundreds of variations on a theme, the visions that take over and destroy any sense in the world when I’m in that trance that moves in and settles like pneumonia.

    So, I read stories of others who’ve lost their loved ones in all kinds of deaths. I experience Owen’s death in all these manifestations. I am thankful you share Barry with us, and what this journey is like for you and your family.

    Thank you for taking the time to write to the world. It is not easy. I do it, too, and some days it takes an unknown toll.

  2. I attempted to write this too early in my grief. I found myself sitting at the computer sobbing my heart out every time I wanted to work on the project. I will go back to it…soon…but for now, I will write fiction and this blog.

    I can’t know how you must be feeling. I do know that not knowing must be driving you crazy. I hope you find answers soon.

Leave a Reply

