Please Be Gentle

An After Loss Creed by Jill Engler

Please be gentle with me for I am grieving.
The sea I swim in is a lonely one, and the shore seems miles away.

Waves of despair numb my soul as
I struggle through each day.

My heart is heavy with sorrow.
I want to shout and scream and repeatedly ask, “WHY?”

At times, my grief overwhelms me,
and I weep bitterly, so great is my loss.

Please don’t turn away or tell me to move on with my life.
I must embrace my pain before I can begin to heal.

Companion me through my tears and sit with me in loving silence.
Honor where I am in my journey, not where you think I should be.

Listen patiently to my story. I may need to tell it over and over again.
It’s how I begin to grasp the enormity of my loss.

Nurture me through the weeks and months ahead.
Forgive me when I seem distant and inconsolable.

A small flame still burns within my heart,
and shared memories may trigger both laughter and tears.

I need your support and understanding.
There is no right or wrong way to grieve. I must find my own path.

Please, will you walk beside me?

6 thoughts on “Please Be Gentle

  1. I’m so sorry about your loss. I’m crying with you and just thinking that this could happen to us parents, who have children, so parents PLEASE….be aware, don’t ignore any changes you see in your children.

    I’m praying for you and your family…always will.
    God bless you all!

  2. This is simply beautiful, this creed has support my mother through the hard times. We lost my brother also in 2006. He 20 yrs old. She is just finding her way. Her best friends has lost her 25 yr old son, she is sharing this creed with her today. Thank You. You and your family are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

