Part 5: Unexplained Phenomenon

Read the series from the beginning.

Wednesday 25 October 2006 started out like any other work day. In fact, most of the day had flown by and the digital clock on my desk told me that it would soon be time to pack up and go home. Like most workers, I didn’t want any complications coming in at this late stage of the day.

The phone rang. I wasn’t prepared for what happened next!

“Hello, Karen,” the chirpy voice said. I recognised the voice straight away. I had spoken to the woman for six years on the phone, but I knew nothing about her personally, except her first name. She knew as little about me. When we talked, it was business only. We had never had a personal conversation. Not once.

The woman asked me about a job and I said I’d phone her back with the information.

Minutes later I dialled her number, she answered and when I told her who I was, she hesitated for a split second and then said, “I don’t care about the job. I need to talk to you about something important. I don’t know why, but I feel the need to talk to you about something I experienced a few days ago.”

Immediately, I felt uncomfortable. Where was this leading?

Her voice was extremely high, as if she was scared, confused, and nervous. She began talking about a visit to a friend’s place about four weeks ago. I couldn’t figure out why she was telling me this information, but I listened.

Her voice continued to rise in pitch and speed. I had the impression she needed to say what was on her mind before she could chicken out.

She told me that a friend had invited her over for a chat. When she got there, she discovered she wasn’t the only person to be invited. There were half a dozen other people. Chairs had been placed in a semi circle, with another chair in the “head” position. The guests were asked to take a seat after being introduced to a stranger – a medium. The medium held a session. She relayed messages from people who had passed over to the people sitting in the room.

Listening to her words, I became tense. My temperature rose. I couldn’t talk. The woman continued in her hurried voice, probably not even noticing the silence on my end of the phone.

She told me that the medium gave her a message from her brother to give to her mother. Her brother had passed away 30 years beforehand and he wanted his mother to know that he was alright, amongst other things.

She told me about another message that another son wanted passed on to his mother – something about “an old soul in a young body” and “lessons to be learned”.

Meanwhile, the hand clutching the phone to my ear hurt from the pressure. My body trembled with fear. Why was this woman, a complete stranger, telling me all this?

The woman continued talking. Her words filtered through my confused mind. I no longer remembered that I sat at my desk in my office.

The woman said that whilst she sat listening to the medium giving out messages, her own throat restricted. She couldn’t breath. She said she couldn’t understand what was happening. None of the others noticed her struggles. The constriction around her throat grew tighter and tighter…and then the medium ended the session and the woman’s throat opened and air filled her lungs.

Without hesitating, the woman continued to tell me about a guest at the sitting who openly cried because he didn’t receive a message from his mother, who had recently died from cancer. The medium had gently told him that his mother couldn’t send him a message until he was able to cope with receiving it.

“I don’t know why I’m telling you this, Karen,” she went on, “but the need is strong within me.”

By now my body shook. Sweat gathered between my shoulder blades. My head throbbed.

But she hadn’t finished.

“Karen, on Sunday evening, I had that same thing happen again,” she told me. “My throat closed, stopping the air. It was scary. I haven’t slept since and I haven’t stopped thinking about you. I don’t know why.”

How strange, neither had I (slept, I mean). I didn’t say the words, but she knew. “You haven’t been sleeping, have you?”

I had to force a reply out of my mouth. It was difficult and my voice sounded raspy. “No.”

“Why not?” she asked.

“Just things on my mind,” I replied.

Silence.

“I know I sound crazy. I wish I knew why I had to tell you this,” she said.

So did I.

A few minutes later we said goodbye and hung up.

I then had a mild panic attack. I tried to return to work, but I couldn’t write. My hand refused to form the letters. My mind was in a complete state of chaos. Ten minutes later, I was more than a little pleased to leave the office and rush home…to safety!

I burst into tears as soon as I walked into the house.

The woman on the phone knows my first name only. She doesn’t know anything else about me, including the loss of Barry to suicide. I, and she, have no idea why she felt compelled to contact me or why she had that choking sensation. Even now she doesn’t know about Barry, because I was unable to tell her. We have no idea why any of this happened. Is there a reason? Is Barry trying to get a message through to me? Maybe I’m just a desperate mother grasping at straws, reading into something that really isn’t there? Are the events coincidental? Will anything come of this in the future?

This is another occurrence that cannot be explained. It left me in a total state of shock, but that shock turned to hope. The woman’s words “a message cannot be sent through until the person grieving is healed enough to cope with receiving it” still rings in my ears.

As for my questions…I guess I’ll have to wait and see, because only time will tell what the future has in store for me.

5 thoughts on “Part 5: Unexplained Phenomenon

  1. You could go to the medium she saw, although I must say I’m a bit sceptical of mediums because they can take advantage of people’s grief. But if the medium wasn’t asking for money, it might be worth a try.

    You are a true writer, Karen, I’ve been gripped by these posts about unexplained phenomenon. One night I couldn’t sleep because I was thinking about the scary man you saw as a child!

    When I was living in Japan I had a scary experience in the flat I was living in, as if a presence was there, and the priest gave me this prayer which I have put on the wall of every house I have lived in since:

    Prayer to St Michael, Archangel

    St. Michael the Archangel,
    defend us in battle.
    Be our protection
    against the wickedness
    and snares of the devil.
    May God rebuke him, we humbly pray,
    and do thou,
    O Prince of the Heavenly Host,
    by the power of God
    cast into Hell Satan and all the evil spirits
    who prowl about the world
    seeking the ruin of souls.
    Amen.

    Not sure if I believe in all that heavy “hell” stuff but I haven’t had any nasty feelings or experiences since I put this prayer on the wall.

  2. Thank you, Helen, for your encouragement with my writing and for the prayer.

    There was another unexplained phenomenon about a month after Barry passed away, which involves a person outside of the family so I didn’t include it here (but is was connected to Barry’s passing). Anyway, Gary told that person to say (out loud) something along the lines of:

    By the power of God, I command you to leave this place.

    We don’t know if the person found themselves in a position again that required them to use this or not, but Gary believes whole heartedly that it would work if needed.

  3. My mother is a medium, though not practicing. It makes her uncomfortable and she says the ability has diminished since she went through chemotherepy. She says it’s rewired her brain so it’s harder for the extra sensory abilities to happen. I think that’s just fine for her because it was disturbing to her at times. It’s easy for me to believe psychics are possible because I grew up with her doing and saying interesting things all the time. My mother is highly religious, and has had various experiences since high school on. She’s 63 now.

    Suggest to your coworker that SHE talk to the medium again if possible. I suspect that your coworker is mildly psychic (i.e. a medium) if she was experiencing what she did. It’s likely Daniel and Gary are mildly psychic as well if they are so sensitive to consistantly sense the presence in your garage and understand it’s intention.

    Mediums experience people “coming through” in different ways. Some hear words, some see images, some taste or smell things, and other have physical sensation. Some mediums have various combinations of these things. My mother used to often see the spirits, sometimes hear them, and more often sense emotion. She says I have it too but that my mind goes too fast for the abilities to be of any use. *shrugs*

    I suspect that your coworker senses spirits physically, and I doubt this is the first time it’s happened to her. She probably just never felt it that strongly. I’m guessing it was indeed Barry contacting her and trying to confirm that it was really him via sensations — consider how he passed. She was experiencing what he did for fleeting moments. She felt compelled to tell you because Barry wanted her to tell you that he was present and is around you. She’s probably too inexperienced with these sorts of things to pick up specific messages or meanings. She should probably talk to an experienced psychic about how to handle that sort of thing so she can control it and so it doesn’t scare her so much.

    I think it’s true, what you said about people in a great of pain and confusion not getting messages directly. I think spirits know it would only make things worse and could be scary. My husband has never gotten a message from his father directly, but has indirectly (and no, not via my mother). Inversely, people who are completely healed and no longer feel a need for signs don’t get them. Spirits know their loved ones are ok, and they move on. A spirit’s own confusion, pain or grief holds them earthbound, or sometimes the pain and grief of their family causes them to visit often until they know you’re alright. My husband, who is also not very religious at all (in fact for the longest time he insisted he was an atheist), is content getting messages from his father via other people but he doesn’t necessarily look for messages. It would frighten him too much if his dad came to him directly.

    Don’t let this frighten you, Karen. If Barry is around he’s only going to want to tell you he’s alright, that he loves you and probably that he’s sorry. He won’t want you to be afraid, nor your coworker.

    I hope my comments, embracing “out there” phenomena aren’t upsetting. *hugs*

  4. I know you’re right, Heather. At first, it did scare me, but then I had a calming sense as realisation struck me. I know it was Barry trying to get a message through. I’ve asked him to let me know in any way possible that he’s OK. I’ve practically begged him to let me know, because as his mother I really do need to know, and I believe that he was trying to do just that. I find comfort in that.

    I don’t know about Daniel, but I do think Gary has some ability. His grandmother was a medium. He often tells me about the things she could do and see. Gary has had some extraordinary experiences himself. He considered pursuing it, but changed his mind. I can’t remember why.

    I didn’t find your comment upsetting. In fact, I found it to be the exact opposite. What happened has given my hope. Maybe I’ll hear from Barry, perhaps not. Just the fact that this has happened means something to me. I’m yet to talk to the woman again. When I do, I feel the need to tell her about Barry. I think she deserves to know that much at least, so that it makes sense to her. And yes, I think she has the ability too.

  5. I can’t answer any of your questions, Karen, but I do know one thing: reading this gave me goosebumps! I’m glad I finally got to read the end of the story. Or at least the end…for now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

