Online Support Groups

Learning to live again after the tragic death of a child must be the hardest grief of all. If you have lost a child, and you think you might benefit by joining an online support group, then why not take a look at one of the ones below.

Please note, that I do not recommend any of them, because I am not a member of them. However, I do belong to a Parent of Suicide group and have found it to be a place of comfort and hope. Only those who have been where you are now, truly know what you’re going through.

The blurb next to the link was not written by me, the wording was taken directly from the groups’ home pages.

Loss of a Child Support Group – This Group is for all who have had a child die no matter when, where or how. The grief is still the same when you out live your child, no matter how old they were.

Mourning the Loss of a Child Support Group – This is a place of understanding. Here we can share our grief with people who have the same thing in common, a horrid loss, unnatural loss, the loss of a child. Day to day coping with this loss is the hardest way of life, because that is what it is…a way of life that we have to learn how to live with. Something you can’t do alone. I know, I’ve tried.

Heavenly Buddies Support Group – This is a circle of new and old friends from around the world who have all experienced the loss of a child. Our children have left this earth in different ways and at different times and ages, but they have not left our hearts, and in this group we share our lost hopes for their futures, our dreams and concerns for our futures, memories and poems, and support for each other.

We also share information of support, grief and trauma resources, quotes that help sustain us during our darkest days and respect for each others’ beliefs.

3 thoughts on “Online Support Groups

  1. Dear Karen,

    A friend’s brother recently committed suicide and I found your blog whilst looking for something which could help her. I am so sorry that you are now going through life without your dear son Barry.

    In July my first child, my son, died in utero at 40 weeks + 4 days after a completely problem-free, text book pregnancy. We do not know what happened to him and we will never know. In researching for my friend I found that there are many similarities between the experiences of family members of suicide victims and the parents of stillborn babies. Guilt, anger, ineptitude of those around you in knowing what to say or how to react, shame, feelings of failure. I guess that these reactions are common because of a completely unexpected death of someone whose time was not supposed to have come yet and for the parent of any child who dies, no matter what the age. As my child’s mother, I should have been able to protect him. I know intellectually that I could not but emotionally I have a much harder time accepting it.

    Thank you for your blog, and I wish you strength, healing and eventual peace.

  2. P.S. I have added you to my blogroll and quoted one of your posts on my blog (whilst stating it was your wisdom and not mine) – I hope you don’t mind.

  3. Thank you, RP, for the kind words.

    I’m sorry to hear about your son and I agree that acceptance is the hardest part of grieving. Each time I get close, it slips from my grasp again.

    And yes, it’s fine that you’ve quoted one of my posts on your blog.

Leave a Reply

