Give What’s Left Of Me Away

Now that I’m gone,
remember me with a smile and laughter.
And if you need to cry,
cry with your brother or sister
Who walks in grief beside you.

And when you need me,
put your arms around anyone
and give to them
what you need to give to me.

There are so many
who need so much.
I want to leave you something.
Something much better
than words or sounds.

Look for me
in the people
I’ve known and loved or helped
in some special way.
Let me live in your heart
as well as your mind.

You can love me most
by letting your love
reach out to our loved ones.
By embracing them
and living in their love.

Love does not die,
people do.
So, when all that’s left of me is love,
give me away as best you can.

~~Author Unknown~~

One thought on “Give What’s Left Of Me Away

  1. Author not unknown. It was written by Merrit Malloy, but the words are a bit different in the original, Epitaph, which you can see at http://www.merritmalloy.com

    I have shared this poem with many people over the years. Your son’s face is as bright as my son’s. We were blessed by the hand of God to prevent in his life what happened to Barry. He is 20 now.

    Hoping Barry lives on the eyes of those who love him still,
    Leslee Simler

Leave a Reply

