The Weight has Lifted

Since taking steps to help my surviving son, and myself, I’ve been feeling a lot better. I’m sleeping longer at night, without medication. I’m feeling more at ease, at work and in general. And I don’t feel panicky.

Tomorrow, I will see a counsellor. I have no idea what I’ll say, and I don’t believe planning what to say is a good idea. It’s important to let it happen as my feelings allow at the time, otherwise I’ll be false and that isn’t going to help me in the slightest.

Daniel on the other hand, hasn’t yet been given an appointment and he needs couselling more than I do. The problem is that he doesn’t want to lose his job so won’t go to counselling during work hours. For that to happen (losing his job), he’d be more stressed out than he is now and that isn’t something any of us are aiming for in trying to help him. He needs to have after-hours counselling and that isn’t as easy to find.

Like me, I think talking about it has helped him. I’ll keep you updated on this situation.

Leave a Reply

