Suicide Memorial Wall

After much thought, I’ve decided to include a link to the Suicide Memorial Wall because I think it’s important for people to know, and see, the number of people who have taken their own lives. Thousands of names will be seen on this site, and Barry’s name will appear alongside the others in about a week – on Wall 6 (or so I’m told).

Until it happened to me I had no idea that so many people felt as if life isn’t worth living. No idea. Now, I want to shout to the world that some of our children are suffering and we have to be careful and watchful. Be aware of the warning signs and, maybe, you can avert the end result to something worthwhile and meaning for your child.

My heart goes out to all the survivors of the people mentioned on that website.

4 thoughts on “Suicide Memorial Wall

  1. MY NAME IS SUZIE I AM 36 MY HUSBAND TOOK HIS LIFE ON 03/03/07 HE WAS 39 HE LEFT BE HIND 2 CHILDREN AND MY SELF IT IS COMING UP ON THE 1ST ANIVERSORY OF HIS DEATH AND AND I WANT OTHER PEOPLE TO LEARN ABOUT BIPOLAR AND THE OUT COME IF THEY DO NOT GET HELP. PLEASE CONTACT ME I NEED SUPPORT FROM OTHER PEOPLE. I AM SO SORRY FOR YOUR LOSE.

  2. Suzie, raising awareness of bipolar is important. I encourage you to do everything in your power to make people see to problems associated with it.

    The first anniversary is the worst, I believe (I haven’t faced the second one yet). I hope you and your family can remember the good times and find comfort in those memories.

  3. I am sorry for your loss. As a survivor of depression and attempted suicides, I know how difficult it can be to overcome such things. My life goal is to help and encourage individuals who are suffering. The pain cannot be fully understood or explained but it is a pain that can be healed!

    Blessings to your family!

  4. Hi, I’m so sorry for the lost of your loved ones. I lost boyfriend to suicide almost 8 years ago. I’m also suffering from bipolar. I’ve only started with meds about a year ago and attemted suicide 3 times before that. It’s been a daily struggle, having really bad days and good days. I do think about suicide allot and read about it allot, but when I do take my meds, and when I think about suicide, the thing that comes to mind is that I do not want to do that to my family and I do not want to be a picture and name on anyones wall / memory, so that has helped me.

    May God be with all of us and may God forgive everyone who has taken their own life

Leave a Reply

