Update on Dreams and People

This week’s posts have had a main focus on dreams and how I’m feeling with the way people are behaving around me. Here’s an update:

Dreams – It’s almost as if by bringing the fact that I’ve been having nightmares out into the open was enough for there to be a turn around. The nightmares have stopped! Believe me, I’m not complaining. I’m still not sleeping well, but at least I’m not scared to go to sleep. That’s had a positive effect on me. And…last night, for the first time, I dreamt about Barry and he was smiling. He also acknowledged me and waved. It was only a dream, but I feel that a weight has been lifted from my shoulders.

People – Well, one person in particular. Remember the woman that came into my office and, upon seeing me, instantly knew that something was wrong? Well, later that same day, we saw each other in the street. Our eyes met, she turned, crossed the road and continued walking. This left me feeling angry and upset. Yes, I know people don’t know what to say, but to do that – and be so obvious about it – is damn selfish and rude. My estimation of that woman plummeted instantly.

3 thoughts on “Update on Dreams and People

  1. I had horrible nightmares when Jim died. It went on for weeks or even months. I had never experienced anything like it before. It was very scary and they were so real. Jim had blonde hair and all this terrible frightening things in my dreams all had blonde hair. I knew exactly why I was dreaming it, and I felt like I was being punished for not saving him, like I deserved it. Thankfully the nightmares ended and I was able to get past it. The way we heal ourselves is incredible. I am so glad to hear you’re sleeping well, it’s so important to your recovery.
    I am hesitant to tell you this, but the day Jim died, before I even knew he was gone, he came to me in a dream. I don’t go around telling people this, but I know for a fact he contacted me. It was Sunday morning and I was sleeping in. It was a dream like no other. There was no ‘setting’ to it. All was blackness and he was in the center and I could see him perfectly and knew it was him. He said he had to tell me something important and to listen carefully. He told me he was leaving and it had nothing to do with me. He said everything would be alright, and for me not to worry about him. When I woke I thought it was just a dream and that it was because I had tried to break it off and my guilty feelings caused the dream. Two days later I found out he died and I knew it wasn’t a dream. I dreamed it at about the same time he died.

  2. I didn’t experience anything like that, Mis Moonbeam. I did feel uneasy on the day that it happened, but I didn’t have him come to me in a dream.

    To be perfectly honest, I would have loved it if he had done that. It would have made the journey a little easier.

    As for your experience, I feel that Jim knew that you’d feel guilty and he was telling you that it wasn’t true. I think that was a wonderful thing for him to do. I hope you can believe that you were not to blame. {{{hugs}}}

  3. Karen, maybe that’s why Barry came to you in this dream, after all. To tell you that he’s ok where he is and hasn’t forgotten you.

    I know that my husband had a similar experience when his grandfather died – he saw him in a dream, and his grandfather said good bye. (There was no suicide involved, but still.)

Leave a Reply

