Please, Don’t Ask Me

The author of this piece is Rita Moran.

Please, don’t ask me if I’m over it yet,
I’ll never be over it.
Please, don’t tell me he’s in a better place,
He isn’t with me.
Please, don’t say at least he isn’t suffering,
I haven’t come to terms with why he had to suffer at all.
Please, don’t tell me you know how I feel,
Unless you have lost a child.
Please, don’t ask me if I feel better,
Bereavement isn’t a condition that clears up.
Please, don’t tell me at least you had him for so many years,
What year would you choose for your child to die?
Please, don’t tell me God never gives us more than we can bear.

Please, just tell me you are sorry.
Please, just say you remember my child, if you do.
Please, just let me talk about my child.
Please, mention my child’s name.
Please, just let me cry.

One thought on “Please, Don’t Ask Me

Leave a Reply

