Happy Birthday

Today, Barry would have turned 19 years old. We had planned a family lunch and I thought he had planned to “party on” with his friends as well. Neither of these things will happen.

I don’t know if anyone else (apart from the immediate family) will spare a thought for Barry today. I hope so. I hope his friends raise their glasses to him. And I hope they share a few happy memories. Barry would have liked that.

So far this morning, I feel composed. With luck, that will continue throughout the day. However, being the day it is, and being his mother, I find myself thinking about the day he was born and I think today would be the ideal day to start the category “My Son”. I’ll prepare that first post when I get home from work after lunch.

Happy Birthday, Barry! I love you.

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday

  1. I recently lost a friend to suicide. It was tough, even though I was not family or even a close friend. I think it’s terrific what you are doing here. I will save a spot in my prayers for Barry today.

  2. As I closed Barry’s curtains last night, and darkness filled his room, I felt that emptiness fill me again. That emptiness that I know has come since Barry’s passing.

    I looked at his ashes laying on his bed and remembered these words from Isaiah 49:15:

    Can a mother forget the baby at her breast
    and have no compassion on the child she has borne?
    Though she may forget, if that be possible
    I will not forget you!

    . . . and nor shall we ever forget you Barry.

    Not your Birthdays, not even a Christmas Day, not one single day will pass that we will forget those precious memories that you have left us to treasure you by.

    Gary

Leave a Reply

