Do Not Sit Here and Weep

This is a poem that was read out by the minister at Barry’s funeral. The minister asked Barry’s loved ones to imagine Barry actually saying the words:

Do not sit here and weep.
I am not here, I do not sleep.
I am the thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glint on snow.

I am the sunlight on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain,
I am the shining star at night,
When you awake to the morning light.

My time has come, I am at rest.
I am the sunset in the west,
I am the clouds that race above,
Where I watch over those I love.

Do not sit here and cry,
I am not here, I do not die,
So hear these words that now I say,
I am the love that guides your way.

~~author unknown~~

Leave a Reply

