A Mother’s Day Wish From Heaven

Mother’s Day will be hard for me from now on. Whilst most mothers enjoy special time with their children – no matter what age they might be – I will always know that it was on Mother’s Day in 2006 that I last saw Barry’s smiling face. And…it was the last time I hugged my youngest son.

As the day is for all mothers, not just for me, I will attempt to always be mindful that the day should be a happy time. I will try to join in this happiness for the other mothers in my family, but Barry will always be in my mind and heart on this day especially.

A friend sent me the following graphic. Just knowing that she had thought of me was enough to make me cry. As with everything in the grieving process, acknowledgement of my loss and my feelings is all that is needed to help me through the day. Mentioning Barry’s name is even better.

Mother's Day Gift

Below is the entire poem:

A Mother’s Day Wish From Heaven

Dear Mr. Hallmark,

I am writing to you from heaven, and though it must appear
A rather strange idea, I see everything from here.
I just popped in to visit, your stores to find a card
A card of love for my mother, as this day for her is hard.

There must be some mistake I thought, every card you could imagine
Except I could not find a card, from a child who lives in heaven.
She is still a mother too, no matter where I reside
I had to leave, she understands, but oh the tears she’s cried.

I thought that if I wrote you, that you would come to know
that though I live in heaven now, I still love my mother so.
She talks with me, and dreams with me; we still share laughter too,
Memories our way of speaking now, would you see what you could do?

My mother carries me in her heart, her tears she hides from sight.
She writes poems to honor me, sometimes far into the night
She plants flowers in my garden, there my living memory dwells
She writes to other grieving parents, trying to ease their pain as well.

So you see Mr. Hallmark, though I no longer live on earth
I must find a way, to remind her of her wondrous worth
She needs to be honored, and remembered too
Just as the children of earth will do.

Thank you Mr. Hallmark, I know you’ll do your best
I have done all I can do; to you I’ll leave the rest.
Find a way to tell her, how much she means to me
Until I can do it for myself, when she joins me in eternity.

~ by Jody Seilheimer ~

As the day draws to a close, I am able to say that I made it through the day. I thought of Barry often, but I did not speak aloud the images going through my mind. I saw Barry walking towards me, weaving through tables in a restaurant with a huge smile on his face. I saw him sitting beside his brother; the pair of them throwing back their heads in laughter. I saw him walking around the buffet selecting the food he wanted to eat. I saw him walking up the driveway and disappearing into the townhouses where his best friend lived. However, this year we didn’t dine in a restaurant, instead we visited my brother and his wife. They served a lunch which filled our bellies and was delicious. Gary and I tried our hand at getting some netball goals with my two young nieces. We listened to a range of music. We gave my mother her Mother’s Day gift.

the family

Daniel arrived home (he didn’t come with us) shortly after we did. A lump formed in the back of my throat when he pressed flowers and chocolates into my arms. And then he gave me a double feature DVD and a card signed “Daniel and Barry”. Even now that simple gesture brings tears to my eyes. As I said, I just wanted someone to mention Barry’s name. This one word fills me with warmth and love.

To all the mothers in the world who have lost a child, I wish for you peace in your heart on this sad but special day.

Posted in My Family's Grieving Journey, Things to Touch Your Heart
9 comments on “A Mother’s Day Wish From Heaven
  1. Lori says:

    Thanks.. it’ll be 10 years this July.. I’m still looking…for??.. I love the letter to Hallmark.. I know my son wouold have written one just like it!
    Peace,
    Lori

  2. Debbie says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. I to lost my son back in April of 2002 in a tragic car accident, and was killed instantly from his way back from work. He was 21 and was a man of God. It is hard on this special day but the hope I have in Jesus tells me that I will see him again. I will definitely be praying for all the mothers and their families on this day. Thank you for the beautiful poem and encouraging words.

    May God Bless,
    Debbie Miner

  3. LYNDA Koplove says:

    Dear Mr. Hallmark,
    With all the cards out there, I find it rather disheartening that you can’t come up with a card that comes from heaven for people who are grieving a loss of someone special such as one for Mother’s day from a child who was lost that someone could buy and sent to the mother. It would be so comforting to the grieving person. You should really think about that!
    Very sincerely, Lynda Koplove

  4. Amber says:

    Thank you for sharing your story.
    My husband and I lost our son before even knowing him. I had only known for 2 weeks that I was pg. we were so ecstatic just to be ripped to shreds a few short weeks later. It will be 5 yrs on the 24 the pain is slowly fading but we will never ever forget him. We now have 2 healthy handsome sons I tell the about their brother in heaven.
    Have a Happy Mother’s Day:)

  5. paula says:

    Thankyou for posting this , I came across it while searching for something to give my mam , this will be her first mothers day without my brother David who was murdered in june 2010, its hard for us to know what to do in his abscence, this was a result for “mothers day card from heaven” i will make something similar xxx

  6. MarleneWilliford says:

    Your story is mine to a T! I lost my Jay Aug 3, 2010
    He chose to leave at age 24 and left behind his 18 month daughter along with a broken hearted family. Thank you, on my first mother’s day my heart is aching for him.

  7. clara54 says:

    I am, as always when I read about a mother’s grief after the loss of a child, saddened. As a mother, I want to hope for you peace, joyful memories and continued strength…

    Peace & blessings,
    Clara.

  8. janet says:

    My heart goes out to every Mom’s that have lost there child. I know I lost my only child 9 years ago she lost her battle with cystic fibrosis. It is never easy to continue after a lost of a child. I also lost my Mother & brother. But the lord came & called upon them because they must have been very special for him to come calling on them this early.We will meet them one they until eternity. So Happy Mother’s Day to all Mother’s. Big HUGS. Have a beautful and remember the happy times you had with them.

  9. Ashley says:

    This sunday will be my first mothers day..I lost my baby boy in september of last year..the last few days have been a mix of so many emotions it’s hard to know what to feel.. thank you for posting this poem..it brought a smile to my face. You will be in my thoughts and prayers this weekend.
    God bless. ~Ashley

Leave a Reply

In loving memory…
Barry Henderson

Barry Andrew Henderson - 26 June 1987 to 18 May 2006

Raising Suicide Awareness
Hope Anthology

All profits donated to suicide awareness

Photos
Christmas Eve 2007

Final Resting Place

The Cemetery

More Photos
More Photos
can be found at Floralscape

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

